Tuesday 28.12.2010

I awoke with the thickest flu I have had in quite some time now. But, stubborn as I am (as anybody would be, considering the circumstance) I pushed on regardless. Dana and I were keen as mustard to visit a sandwich shop that Kevin had recommended we visit, named Katz’s Deli.

OMGWTF
This place is incredible.

(I feel that my use of the English language is terribly limited. I keep using the same adjectives, ALL THE TIME. For this I apologise.)

What an intimidating bustle of commotion it is! They serve the most humungous sandwiches I have ever seen! The thing I have very quickly noticed about New York is that people get instantly frustrated at you if you don’t immediately know what to do. Trainstaff are cranky and impatient and TERRIBLE at explaining directions, waitstaff and shop assistants are (for the most part) dead-pan, perpetually pissed-off and come with loads of attitude. This was not the case for Katz’s deli, and it is apparent by the amount of customers they perpetually seem to have! You practically have to fight to get a chair and table to sit and eat at.

The walls are lined with pictures of members of the Katz family (the Deli’s namesake) with various important social figures and celebrities. Bill Clinton, Johnny Depp, Milla Jovovich, Jerry Sinefeld, practically the entire ‘Sopranos’ cast (understandably though), just to name a few faces lining the walls. So cool.

Picture of Dana Johnny Depp with Katz on the wall.

Dana actually with Katz:

And Milla, oh Milla, my heart:

After we sat here for some time, revelling, neigh, basking in this place’s pure awesomeness, Dana and I waded out, and made our way to our next destination: the site that housed the old CBGB’s club. If you don’t know what this is, you need to look it up.

Sadly, pictures were not permitted inside. So here is a picture I took outside:

It was so sad to see this place. Its former glory can still be felt, thickly and quietly hanging in the air. Why did this place have to close?? It has hosted some of the most important and influential musical figures of the 20th century – such as, but certainly not limited to: Lou Reed, Patti Smith, Smashing Pumpkins, The Pixies, Radiohead and about 1,000,000,000 more.

It was so strange to be in a building that held such history.

We made our way back to Kevin’s house, and I slept for about 13 hours. Kevin, Shuying and Dana went to a jazz club near Kevin’s apartment. I was sad to have missed out, but wasn’t feeling well enough to push myself to go. I was all feverish and terrible. And sleep would do me good.

2 Responses to “Katz’s Deli and CBGB”

  1. Mark&Sue

    aarhh get better soon Jess.. i love your blog so much i would almost pay to read this.

    the sandwich place with the photo of Jonny Depp & Katz and the photo of Dana and Katz, thats pretty freaky. . . .

    I hope your flu dies a quick and silent death while you sleep so you can enjoy, taste, and have much energy to adventure, photograph and experiance all you can (and write all about it of course)

    xox sk

    Reply

Go on - leave me some sweet sweet loving...

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

