Saturday 15.01.2011

Aaron, being the upstanding citizen he is, coaches two children’s basketball teams on a Saturday morning. We went to watch them play.

It was immediately apparent that I would be put to shame. These kids are good.

Sitting and watching these games, I was transported back to the time when I played basketball when I lived in Pearl Mississippi.

I played two seasons. I never scored a goal in a game. I was practically a professional. I don’t know why I didn’t follow this as a career path.

I remember how irate my dad would get at the sidelines, when he disagreed with decisions made by the ref. I am pretty sure they even had to threaten to ban him from watching games at one point.

I felt that same nervous tension watching Aaron’s teams play. I couldn’t even sit in my chair. And I am sure I cheered louder than anyone when a goal was scored. I think I am a much better spectator than I am a participant.

USA-4921

A boy, eating nachos.

USA-4925

USA-4931

USA-4933

This girl was getting very impatient at the lady behind the kiosk.
“Scuse me Ma’am… I have a dollar. Can I have a pickle, PUH-lease???”

USA-4958

USA-4989

USA-4992

Yeah, and WIN.

The second game was for the younger teams. It was hilarious watching them squabble over the ball… not really taking it very seriously. As you do, when you’re in the third grade.

USA-4998

USA-5014
A little practise.

USA-5031

USA-5040

USA-5042
This kid’s face cracks me up.

USA-5048
Yes, there was an injury.

All very intense.

USA-5063

USA-5086
Aaaaaand, WIN.

After the big game, after exerting so much energy, we went to International House of Pancakes. I think the waitress had the hots for Dana because she went over the top with making sure he had his order taken and food on his table right away. When it came to mine, she scoffed at me and rolled her eyes when I ordered a coffee. Then my meal came out about 6 ½ minutes after everyone else’s, and was almost tossed onto the table in front of me.

But, when I think about it, I can’t blame her.

He is pretty damn fine.

Aaaanyway, after Ihop, we went to Walmart to buy some ammunition. As you do when you are in Mississippi.

So Aaron has this friend. His name is Matthew Tubbs. He took us shooting on his property.

As I write this, I am very upset. I have gone through all my lightroom files, and I cannot, for the life of me, find the photos of this part of our day.

Shooting a gun was like being punched in the hands, and in the eardrums. After having my first turn, I felt rather shakey, so I stuck to smoking my shared cigar with Aaron, whilst he, Tubbs and Dana continued on shooting at the target with Tubbs’s rifle.

Did I mention that Tubbs has built his own house? He is pretty much the epitome of manliness.

Later that evening, Aaron, Dana and I went to a restaurant named ‘Cock of the Walk’ (O_o) for dinner to meet a lovely old friend and her husband for her birthday dinner.

I, once again, am obviously technologically inept, and have, again, misplaced the photos for this part of my day.

When my parents and I left Mississippi to move back to Australia, Lisa came to see me off at the airport. I was 11 and she was 10.

I gave her a box of candy. And we both cried our eyes out.

I continued to cry about missing Lisa for about 6 whole months after moving back.

I moved around a lot as a child. The one thing that I learnt to deal with (and abhor) the most was missing the people I loved.

As excited as I was about the prospect of making lots of new friends, I was still so sad to be leaving everything I knew to be home, and that feeling you get in your heart when you know you are *there*.

This is why I feel so torn about moving to Adelaide. On one hand is my sister and brother and sister in law, and my niece and nephews. My heart feels home in Adelaide. When I visit and leave, my heart aches when the plane lifts off of the runway.

But I have grown up in Brisbane. This place is where all the best and worst things have happened to me. There is not a part of it that does not hold some sort of memory of mine, however poignant at times.

I will be sad when we leave. BUT, I would rather talk about this later.

I’m not being very succinct today, am I?