Thrifty Thursday – noun
Pronounced: Thrifty |ˈθriftē| Thursday |ˈθərzˌdā; -dē|
1. A day to which posts based on thriftiness are uploaded for your viewing pleasure, be it op-shop discoveries, crafty projects or yummy new recipes…

_________________________________________________

Oh wow, hasn’t it been a long time since I posted about thriftiness?? I soverymuchly wanted to post this yesterday (the <em>real</em> Thursday), but I was feeling quite unwell. So Dana set me up on the couch with some water, a blankie and a Bill Murray movie before he left for uni. And he banned me from ‘doing photos’. Fair enough. Plus, within about an hour of him leaving, I was fast asleep in a ball.

That’s not to say that I haven’t actually been thrifty though. I have gone on almost daily bike rides to places instead of driving, gone shopping in thrift stores multiple times per week for the past 6 months or so, and given haircuts to my friends and family.

I am very excited today. I am excited to the bone. I am so excited I have been doing a little hoppy dance around the house all morning (and yes, I am feeling much better).

This brochure is why I am so excited:

brochure

We received it in our letter box a couple of weeks ago, and since then, I have felt completely and utterly squeamishly excited.

I love hard rubbish, or recycled furniture, or scavenging, or kerbsite collections, or whatever you like to call them.

“Ohai, I am 70 years old and my husband and I no longer want all this awesome 1960’s furniture and home decor, and our grandson is lazy and won’t help us take it do donate to the Salvation Army. Oh, I know, let’s just leave it out for kerbside collection! Lucky we got this brochure in the mail!!”

Anyway, I am banking on the fact that because Adelaide has a relatively ageing population, there might be one or two kerbside scenarios akin to this one??

SO, needless to say, I have been working on a list of things to look out for in the neighbourhood this weekend.

Perhaps one day, I will post about all of the cool things we have found in hard rubbish over the years. A large percentage of our furniture has been found (and appreciated) as treasure on the side of the road.

One year, back when we lived in Brisbane, Dana and I found a Juice dispenser moulded to the shape of former Australian Prime Minister, Bob Hawke’s face! Now, if that’s not a golden win, then I don’t know what is! Needless to say, that red chipped paint in the background of the photos above is the top of a cool cabinet my sister and I found near our house on the side of the road.

One of the things listed is garden supplies. I’m looking for pots, tyres, buckets, metal drums, fence railing, etc etc, and any thing that might come in handy in building my new veggie garden.

I have been faffing on and on about making a new garden, but here’s some of my plans:

plans

I was given some beautiful gardening books for my birthday, which I have found to be completely, essentially helpful to me. I have absolutely no freaking idea about how to start my garden, and to be honest, I even feel a little bit nervous about it! Which is silly, I know.

I have been reading, One Magic Square by Lolo Houbein and Grow Vegetables by Alan Buckingham.

books

But, I am feeling much better about it all now. I (and every other poor sucker in my family) have been collecting toilet paper rolls so I can start sprouting some seeds before planting them, and it is all getting a little bit exciting really.

I just cannot wait for the day that I can prepare a fresh meal from ingredients that I have lovingly grown myself!

Do you garden? Have you ever grown your own vegetables or fruit or herbs?

x Jessica

– Go ‘like’ Other Such Things on Facebook –

(to stay updated with new posts, giveaways and such)

10 Responses to “Thrifty Thursday: Post # 7 – Plan Your own Veggie Garden”

  1. Kristie

    I tried a veggie garden a few years ago…unfortunately I planted all of my gorgeous herbs, chillies, feijoa trees etc. etc. during the spring prior to the devastating Victorian ‘Black Saturday’ summer. Just as everything started to blossom I ended up with very thirsty herbs and chillies roasted on the plants (literally – blackened, roasted chillies straight off the plant!). I was so disheartened by my failed venture that I haven’t started up again. I must confess…all of these posts about pottering around the veggie garden in the sunshine and cooking with home-grown veggies and herbs is starting to re-inspire! Perhaps it’s time to crack out the old gardening boxes…??

    Reply
  2. Mum

    I decided to grow a vege garden in pots next to the door of our upstairs home when we lived in N.S.W. Every thing was going well, but just when I thought it was time to harvest the fruit of my labour, to my shock, the beautiful ripe tomatoes and capsicums had gone!

    Hum!

    Who took my veg? So Jess and I did some spy undercover stuff; yet, could not come up with an answer.

    One night, Hubby was up late and heard a noise out side. Upon investigation, he saw a possum on the deck outside our door munging on the last capsicum!

    Moral to the story: Walk softly and carry a big stick!

    Reply
  3. Show Not Tell « Music For Communication

    […] Thrifty Thursday: Post # 7 – Plan Your own Veggie Garden (othersuchthings.wordpress.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "poems"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "a-strawberry-poem"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "agriculture"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "art"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "children"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "fruit"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "garden-strawberry"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "horticulture"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "how-strawberries-grow"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "poetry"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "seeds"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "strawberry"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_below_post"); Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Reply
  4. kitsune-kun

    Thank you so much! I am SO jealous of your thrifting prospects! It’s impossible in new york, everything is totally over picked and overpriced:(

    Reply
    • Jessica

      Yes, thrifting here in Adelaide is quite a dream!

      While we were trawling through kerbside collections, I found a whole dusty box full of old floral rolls of coloured contact – you know, the kind you would cover your school books with when you were a kid?

      So. Great.

      You, however, seem to be doing *quite* well thriftwise, despite the location difficulties!

      xx

      Reply
  5. Mike10613

    Hi Jessica,

    I found your blog amusing and so I have done a pingback to my Thrifty Thursday which will be published tomorrow; I scheduled it! It’s probably already tomorrow in Australia, but I’m in England. :)

    I have grown veggies in the garden, runner beans were a favourite and they crop really heavy. I’m eating lots of apples from the garden this week, they have ripened early this year.

    If people are more thrifty and frugal future generations might have a planet worth living on! :)

    Reply
    • Jessica

      Hello Mike,

      Thank you for your pingback, and for your thoughtful comment.

      We are going to be growing a salad plot, first of all, with somewhat of a ‘pick and come again’ theme.

      The best thing (and one of the only things) I have ever grown was a chilli bush, which, last Summer, ended up having hundreds of hot and juicy red chillies on it. I am very sad to have left it in Queensland when I moved interstate with my husband.

      I’m looking forward to sharing more success stories on here! I am living in South Australia, and the weather is warming up. It’s planting time!! :)

      Reply
    • Mike10613

      Salad is easy to grow; watch out for slugs and snails! I used to make beer especially for slug and snail traps. My main problem is weeds and I have tried everything even a flame thrower! Runner beans are great. I’m definitely in to Autumn now but enoying apples from my trees.

      Reply
      • Jessica

        HAHA! A flame thrower?!! That is hilarious…

        Although I have not been into it all for very long, so far weeding is one of my favourite things about gardening! So cathartic. (I realise that is quite strange)

        We too have an apple tree – that comes out with some pretty yummy apples – but like you, will have to wait until Autumn for those.

        I am personally really looking forward to summer – FIG season!

        Reply

Go on - leave me some sweet sweet loving...

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

