You know what? I think I owe you all an apology.

I think, particularly online, I hold people at arm’s length. I have all these bustling ideas for posts that never eventuate, I have thousands upon thousands of photographs that never make it up here.

And it’s not because I don’t want to share them, or write back immediately and way-too-enthusiastically to the comments you leave, but still, something inside me holds back.

Perhaps it is because of my perfectionism? Or because I am somehow scared that if I put it all out there, then I become more exposed and open to criticism.

This isn’t to say that I feel this way all or even most of the time, but I have noticed that it happens at about the same time that I look at the sites of other photographers that I admire. Isn’t that strange?

So I occasionally have to ban myself from looking at other artist’s photographs, to keep from squashing my own inspiration and confidence in my own work, and to keep from feeling rubbish about what I enjoy doing the most.

I have a voice, and my promise to you is that I will let you hear it more. No matter how it challenges the sensibilities of my courage.

There. That feels better.

// RANT

And as material proof of my promise, here’s a picture of me, on the day I got my beautiful 50mm f/1.2L lens:

ME (1 of 1)

4 Responses to “Getting something off of my chest…”

  1. Emily Sherpa

    Oh, I totally know what you mean, but for me you are one of those amazing photographers I look at and admire! I love your photographic style and your voice that goes with it :)

    Reply

Go on - leave me some sweet sweet loving...

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

