Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

A few years ago, I was flipping through a local Adelaide street press magazine.

I noted this name that kept popping up throughout in tiny text beneath some of the images. It was a very catchy name. And it stuck in my head.

From that point, I kept seeing it in publications, on Facebook, I would be at an event and people would ask if he would be coming to take photographs.

I googled his name, and found the most beautiful portraits (I’ve been swooning over his work ever since). And don’t even get me started on his street photography.

I then started to recognise him around at events he was shooting.

Eventually, I met him and his fiancee at an event that I was shooting. I was pleasantly surprised at how nervous he was in front of the camera. Here was this super talented human being that I had been fan-girling for ages, and it was so nice to see him feeling a bit uncomfortable in front of my lens. Such a humble soul. He and his fiancee – whom I might add is the most breathtakingly beautiful woman I have seen IRL and I totally have a girl crush on – were so kind to me.

Earlier last year, I was sitting outside on my front porch, sharing a beer with my husband Dana when I received an email.

My heart skipped a little beat when I read the name of the sender in the subject line.

Jonathan VDK.

He was writing to ask me to photograph his wedding.

I nearly spat beer all over my lap.

You see, I had been following his beautiful image making online for a couple of years.

You can imagine my surprise that he wanted ME to take his wedding photographs.

There is so much talent out there, that I am often surprised when anybody hires me at all.

Not so much a case of me being self-deprecating but I do appreciate that choosing a photographer is actually hard work. And requires an implicit amount of trust in whom you are hiring.

From time to time, I receive some of the most lovely emails from such kind hearted folk. It makes my heart soar to read such beautiful compliments about the work I do, from people who want me to make images for them too.

But then woah, when these words are from someone who makes absolutely amazing images themselves, what an absolute and utter compliment.

After reading his email I felt like a million bucks, and incredulously, scared shitless.

All in all, Jonathan’s wedding was lovely. I felt honoured to photograph it for him. His family were the kindest that any family has ever been to me before at a wedding. And I felt so confident and trusted. It was empowering, and I rocked being in my own skin.

There was no bridal party. There was no cake. There was no waltz. There was no trashy garter. Just beautiful Sachi and Jonathan – surrounded by people that had such joy to celebrate them on their wedding day.

He cried, she cried, his mother cried, I cried, and we all gave each other tissues. If that’s not a definition of the best wedding ever, then I don’t know what is.

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

Sachi and Johnathan VDK's wedding

x jessica

6 Responses to “Sachi and Jonathan VDK got married: Adelaide Wedding Photographer”

  1. BretteAshley

    So beautiful! Your photos make me feel like I’m watching Love Actually.

    Reply
  2. Mum Ange

    what can I say – well done again. keep on, keep on going. xoxoxoxo Mum Ange

    Reply

Go on - leave me some sweet sweet loving...

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

