Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Ugh. What to say about this family?

Georgia and Errol are best friends to my husband Dana and I, and we also have the honour of being godparents to their three children.

I met Georgia when I was seventeen years old. And in that almost decade we have shared more cookie dough, mi goreng, boytroubles™, matching outfits, and period emergencies than I would like to admit.

I have so much love for this family.

You know the kind? The kind of friends you know you’ll grow old with.

I almost imploded-and-self-destructed-in-ten-seconds at the mere idea of making photographs of them – let alone writing something about them now.

Because I know that nothing I could ever write would ever be deserving of them.

I feel the same way about these photographs. They’re good, and I love them, and I have printed some to be lovingly displayed in my own home, but no photograph I could ever make of any member of this family would ever be deserving.

And that’s the worst and best thing about photography. When I photograph people that I love, I can’t ever get them *right*. I can never get them just the way I see them in my heart.

But some of these photos come pretty close: An open-hearted, intricate and stupidly loving family that is so full of life. (And a delightful life at that. You can see theirs documented here.)

Here they are: Georgia, Errol, Priya, Theo and baby Florin. And I’ll have you know that we spent days hand making those damn emoji faces.

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane family photogrpahy: The Brizuelas

Brisbane Family Photography: The Brizuelas

And we just couldn’t help ourselves with this one. Thanks to Errol for taking it!

Brisbane Family Photography: The Brizuelas

x jessica

Ps. For reference:

storyboard021

9 Responses to “Brisbane Family Photography: The Brizuelas”

  1. singing a rainbow

    I think this family is pretty rocking too. The photos are wonderful!! Did you tape that emoticon to Freddy’s head in the third last picture?! ;)

    Reply
    • Jessica

      Hahaha – actually, I thought to add a disclaimer in the end of the post reading something like:

      *no babies were bluetacked in the making of these images*

      It is actually a composite image I made in photoshop. In the original one, mama was fastidiously trying to keep a squirming baby still whilst holding the monkey emoji over his face which he kept on slapping out of her hand.

      I must admit though, I did seriously consider just sticking it to him (and also admittedly would have used it as a last resort – haha). ;)

      Reply
  2. Loz Murray

    Wow, great pics. I find it amazing that you have captured them all so differently then how we normally see them through Georgia’s camera, just as gorgeous but uniquely how you see them. They’re great, I love it!

    Reply
  3. nao14nov

    What an amazing pictures from this lovely family who normally share their amazing pictures with us; your love & affection for them shines through in every single image. Thanks for sharing this with us!

    Reply
  4. discoveringthesilverlining

    Oh the emoji heads – so golden!!! Love Theo’s, I can totally see him pulling that exact face behind his mask. Your photography has come leaps and bounds in the last few years Jess, these pics are all gorgeous!! xx

    Reply
  5. tdkja

    I love these so bad. They made me grin and even get a little choked… I don’t even know them IRL! I love following their family on instagram and these photos are just awesome!

    Reply

Go on - leave me some sweet sweet loving...

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

