Fujicolor Pro 400H

I have recently ventured into the land of professional colour film. And what a glorious land it is!

I cannot tell you just how much this is stretching me as a photographer. I am learning to be far more careful with composition, and to get my settings right in camera. I am paying more attention to horizontal lines, and to the set up of a shot before I have taken it.

After purchasing a roll of film for $20, and then paying over $20 to have it professionally processed and scanned to disc, it means that each exposure costs me just over $1 – just to click my shutter button.

I first learnt to shoot on a digital SLR – and quickly fell into a habit of overshooting. I knew I could fix minor things in photoshop. I can straighten horizons, I can brighten teeth, I can take 1,000,000 shots of the same thing if I like, just to be able to pick the best shot.

I am thankful to film for bringing me back to the heart of photograph making, in a way. And I feel inspired all over again.

These are some shots from my most recent attempt at working with professional colour negative film.

Film: Fujicolor pro 400H
Camera: Canon eos 500N
Lens: Canon 50mmL f1.2
Settings: various SS and aperture – but mostly shot at +1 or +2 stops

Location: Marino Rocks, South Australia. Just after sunset – 5.00 to 5.30pm.

Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H
Fujicolor Pro 400H

I really like the tones that film naturally produces – so much depth.

I would like to continue to share other work I produce using film – and will dedicate what will hopefully be a regular slot on a Friday (though not strictly every single Friday) – to ‘Film Fridays’.

This marks the first of hopefully many Friday posts – all centered on my journey of shooting film.

Thank you for following along, and do feel free to leave me feedback – I’d love to read what you think!

x jessica

5 Responses to “Adelaide Photographers: Film Friday # 1”

  1. snappystreet

    Amazing, you have done such a wonderful job with these! I love the mood and tones you have captured :) Am looking forward to more Film Fridays!

    Reply
  2. kathy

    I love the richness of tone in the shots. The photo of Lauren looking down smiling is beautiful. keep up the good work. You talented lady you.

    Reply

Go on - leave me some sweet sweet loving...

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS